

PRESS RELEASE

2nd January 2024

NEW HISTORIC SPEED CHAMPIONSHIP LAUNCHED

A newly formed MSUK recognised club, the National Historic Speed Club ("NHSC"), has announced a speed championship for historic cars, sports cars and race cars built between 1st January 1947 and 31st December 1976. Sponsored by Hagerty UK, the new speed championship will be contested over twelve rounds at classic venues such as, Goodwood, Aintree, Shelsley Walsh, Prescott, Loton Park and Harewood.

NHSC is also honoured and delighted to announce that John Fitzpatrick has agreed to be President of the new club. John is of course famous for his winning exploits in Minis, Anglias and Escorts during the 1960s. Subsequently winning the European GT Championship in 1974 and going on to run his own WEC team.

NHSC chairman, Steve Akers, said "This exciting new championship is intended to fill a big gap in the hillclimb and sprint calendar. Owners of historic cars will now have the chance to compete against each other on a much fairer basis, rather than having to take on more modern machinery. The popularity of this era of motorsport has increased massively in recent years and we aim to bring fans the spectacle of these cars in action on a more regular basis around the country."

The overall champion will be awarded the Innes Ireland Trophy, a trophy kindly donated by Christianne Ireland, his daughter. It is expected that Christianne will be competing in the championship, no doubt with the intention of winning it back!

Entries for the new championship open on Saturday 13th January via the club's website, www.nationalhistoricspeed.co.uk.

Note to Media contacts: For further information please contact **Steve Akers** (<u>steve.nhsc@btinternet.com</u> or 07793 058370)